Saturday, July 30, 2011

Tamilnadu Board of Continuing Education expands its activities during Emerald plus jubilee decade-Dr.K.Govindaraju

Dr.K.Menna,Dr.K.Govindaraju,Dr.M.S.Palanichamy and Dr.K.Manivasan  in the function
Trichy: 30, July 2011:“Tamilnadu Board of Continuing Education proposes to expand its activities during Emerald plus jubilee decade” said Dr.K.Govindaraju, the president of Tamilnadu Board of Continuing Education while addressing the field level functionaries of Women Self Help Groups in Arumbuhalnagar on the occasion of Emerald jubilee decade completion function of Tamilnadu Board of Continuing Education held in Arumbuhalnagar in Trichy District on Saturday, the 30th July. Dr.K.Govindaraju recalled the Literacy and continuing Education services of then District Collectors those received Malcolm Adisheshiah awards in recognition of their implementing the continuing education programme in 2003. Prof.M.S. Palanichamy, then Vice-Chancellor of Tamil Nadu Open University. Dr.K.Govindaraju said,”On the occasion as Chairman, Tamilnadu Board of Continuing Education, I  conveyed that the Mc Levy award was given in recognition of the contribution by the Collector, K. Manivasan, in implementing the programme for the benefit of women inmates of the Tiruchi Central Prisons. The Malcolm Adiseshiah Award went to four District Collectors — M. A. Siddique (Dharmapuri), A. C. Mohandas (Vellore), J. Radhakrishnan (Sivaganga) and K. Rajaraman (Tuticorin) and the Chennai Corporation Commissioner, M.P.Vijayakumar, and the Syndicate Sub-Committee Convener, Bharathidasan University, Dr.K. Meena. The Malcolm S.Adiseshiah emerald jubilee award was bagged by the District Collectors, Hiteshkumar Makwana (Pudukottai), P. Annamalai (Karur), S. Vijayakumar (Ramanathapuram), R. Venkatesan (Kancheepuram) and S. Chandramohan (Tiruvallur).
District Collectors those received Malcolm awards,Dr.K.Govindarajan presided
Tamil Nadu Board of Continuing Education also Presented Emerald Jubilee Malcolm S Adeseshiah Award to Dr. K Gopal I.A.S., Collector, Viluppuram for his commendable contribution towards implementing Child labor rehabilitation and Continuing Education Programme.  This apart, 11 individuals and institutions, including the Chief Educational Officer, Karaikal, four non-governmental organisations also bagged the Emerald Jubilee Awards”. Dr.K.Govindaraju further said, “Tamilnadu Government currently has a political will to create awareness among the women and other disadvantaged groups on the importance of awreness, communicative Literacy and Livelihood promotion of the women groups through continuing education project. The Tamilnadu Board of Continuing Education had for a long time been concerned with ways to make its expertise and facilities available to qualified personnel in continuing education, and research UNITS. On a small scale, the Tamilnadu Board of Continuing Education facilities were always being used through short-term/refresher courses, but these activities were not coordinated by a single entry. The current chairman said “A renowned economist Dr. Malcolm S. Adisehiah who had been a Deputy Secretary General of UNESCO for 22 long years returned to his motherland. He had visited more than 130 countries. On his return, probably he was very much disappointed to see the percentage of literate population. He had a firm belief that a literate person would prove himself to be a etter citizen and try to stand on his own legs. Keeping this in view, he decided to have an organization exclusively for the promotion of Adult Education and the outcome of it was the formation of Tamil Nadu Board of Continuing Education in 1972, and duly registered in 1975 under Tamilnadu Societies Registration Act 1975; 114/1975. Project Director of South Zone Board of Continuing Education, Mrs.P.Chitra welcomed the gathering.Mrs.Percy Lal, District Manager of Link Workers proposed vote of thanks.-Govin

1 comment:

  1. Government of Tamil Nadu State Directorate of the Government Examinations will be going to distribute the TNDGE SSLC Pravaite hall ticket 2017.